Scale armor?

Discussion/Information about the Duchy of Wavehaven

Moderators: Misty, mikezilla

Scale armor?

Postby Garuda » Fri Apr 17, 2009 9:08 pm

So since I'm new to the world of warrior, and hence heavy armor, i've been looking at possibilities for different armors i could make. Has anyone rated scale mail, or seen a suit that had been rated? I can't figure out how a suit of all-metal scale (made with Ring Lord's materials and pattern, like 4-in-1 chain but with a scale in place of every other ring) would be rated. Also, does anyone know if there is any standard for scale thickness?

Any feedback appreciated!
Garuda

Re: Scale armor?

Postby Brigade » Fri Apr 17, 2009 9:27 pm

Using metal "scales" in chain would probably be considered "augmented chain" .. have to see it to be able to rate it.

Most Scale armor I've seen is made from either thick (1/4") leather or metal "scales" that overlap. You take the leather "scales" and turn them into a suit by overlapping them. It's also a pain in the ass if you're not an experienced armorer.

Lousy picture, but good close-up of the shoulder. The part underneath is "scale" (overlapping leather pieces) .. the shoulderpiece (as a whole) covers up the scale armor underneath (and it's attatched to the scales). That there is a Masterwork Piece .. earned a Master Dragon and a Master Owl .. so you can see how tough it is to do well.
No, you're wrong. And I'm not going to waste my time arguing with you. - Sir Shef
Brigade

Postby Laoric » Fri Apr 17, 2009 9:42 pm

You're in a land with arguably one of the best leather armor smiths in the game. Sit down with Kel and talk about what you want and see if he has any advice.
“I wanna live 'til I die, no more, no less.”
Laoric
Robbie Suxxorz

Postby Thorin » Fri Apr 17, 2009 11:04 pm

Ask the good people at Siar Geata. They have a suit of the scale mail you describe, my guess is that it goes for 4-5 points.
Tap Ut Quod Teneo Haud Reformo

Lord Thorin Njalsson of Wavehaven
Thorin