new to amtgard,...help please

Discussion/Information about the Duchy of Wyvern's Spur

Moderators: Azus, Ubrik, Yrduna, Vidya

new to amtgard,...help please

Postby Inurez » Mon Aug 17, 2009 11:12 pm

hay, everyone. Im new to amtgard, as in I have never played before, althoe I am good at sword fighting(exept fencing....I HATE fencing) any way, Im hopeing to get out there this sunday, but I dont know what I need. I mean, I know Im gonna need a wepon, but will one be provided for me until I am able to make my own or buy my own? and there is something about papers, right? please, I need to know this to avoid looking like a retard...
Inurez

Re: new to amtgard,...help please

Postby Kronk » Tue Aug 18, 2009 4:43 am

Just come on out, to begin with. We do have some loaner weapons for first-timers, and we can teach you about weapon construction while you're there.
ad astra per alia porci
Kronk
ad astra per alia porci

Postby Collin the Red » Tue Aug 18, 2009 7:15 am

Inurez, (and anyone else who found Amtgard in the last 2 months)
Welcome to Amtgard. I was wondering how you found us. As a Sacramento member working on building our membership, it would help to know what is working, what is not, and what new things we should try. Most new members tell us, "I was driving past name of local park, saw a bunch of people in Renfaire clothes, beating on each other, and it looked fun." or "surfing the web..." or "a friend said..." So if you could post how you found us, we can better promote our individual lands.

10q
Baron Collin MacAbee current King of Westmarch
Squire to Sir Smiley
Collin the Red

Postby Azus » Tue Aug 18, 2009 7:58 am

We have extra weapons, and sometimes spare shields. Armor is optional, some games don't use it at all, and there's sometimes spare of that too (how it'll fit and how comfortable is another matter!).

(You can disregard the following wall of text and just show up - we get plenty of folks walking by who join up, no problem)

Garb